Never have I ever…

… experienced a church service quite so powerful and emotional before today.

This morning Izzy and I were swept up in a crowd of little chicos and chicas. I felt a small tug on my fingers and found myself linking hands with the small girl on my right. I looked down at her and realised that all the children had formed a chain and were processing towards the Iglesia.

When we entered the packed church, several minutes after the service had started, I was struck with the power echoing around the building. Everyone was on their feet, eyes shut, arms raised to the heavens, swaying and singing to their God. I could feel the energy pulsing from their bodies.

At the front of the church the pastor was singing with the most powerful voice i had ever heard backed by an electric guitar, keyboard and drums. The words were all foreign to me but that was not the point; the emotion put into each and every sound was overwhelming enough.

Never have I ever experienced a church service quite so powerful and emotional before today, and that was only the first.

Hasta luego!

Sacha xx

Leave a Reply

